PLANNING ADVISORY BOARD Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2023 Via Zoom FINAL MEETING MINUTES

Members Attending

Name		Representation	Name		Representation
Liddy Bargar	Р	Human Services	Christine O'Malley	Р	Cultural/Historic Preservation
Joe Bowes	Р	Housing	C.J. Randall	Р	Local Planning (non-urban)
Fernando de Aragón	Р	Transportation	Leslie Schill	Ε	Education #2
Jordan Decker	Р	Energy	Andy Zepp	Α	Land Preserv./Public Land Mgmt.
Yamila Fournier	Α	Built Environment			
George Frantz	Α	Agriculture	Others Present		
David Herrick	Р	Facilities/Infrastructure	Katie Borgella	Р	Commissioner
David Kay	Р	Local Planning (urban)	Kristin McCarthy	Р	County Staff
Thomas Knipe	Е	Business	Megan McDonald	Р	Deputy Commissioner
Anne Koreman	Р	County Legislature	Abigail Conner	Р	
Ernie McClatchie	Р	Education #1	Hailley Delisle	Р	
Heather McDaniel	Р	Economic Development			
Gay Nicholson	Р	At-Large			

Guests: None

<u>Call to Order/Agenda Review and Changes/Privilege of the Floor:</u> Vice Chair C.J. Randall called the meeting to order at 4:03pm. No changes were made to the agenda, and no one spoke during privilege of the floor.

<u>Action: Nominating and Electing Chair and Vice Chair – Nominating Committee</u>

Fernando de Aragón, on behalf of the Nominating Committee (Fernando de Aragón, Jordan Decker, Ernie McClatchie, and Gay Nicholson), presented the 2023 slate of officers for consideration. Nominations were solicited from the floor, but none were offered.

Action: Fernando de Aragón made a motion, which Anne Koreman seconded, to elect C.J. Randall the 2023 chair and Leslie Schill the 2023 vice chair of the Planning Advisory Board. Motion carried.

<u>Action: Approval of Draft Minutes (December 2022):</u> The draft December 2022 (moved by C.J. Randall, seconded by Anne Koreman) minutes were approved as submitted.

Report/Discussion: 2022 Department Accomplishments and 2023 Work Program – Katie Borgella, DPS
Katie shared the Planning and Sustainability Department's list of accomplishments for 2022 and key components of the department's draft 2023 work program. She remarked that despite several staff transitions over the course of 2022, the department had achieved or made progress on many of its milestones. Highlights from the department's 2022 work include the building code administration study, broadband expansion to unserved areas of the county, incentivizing housing development in development focus areas, resiliency and recovery plan, green fleet capital program, and more. The 2023 draft work program features key initiatives such as development opportunity outreach, co-leading with County Administration on a strategic operations plan, building code administration and operations study, visitor profile study, transportation planning program, debris management plan, and more. Katie also reported on the creation of a mini transportation team within the department and recruitment of those staff members, and legislative committee organization for new year. Q&A discussion covered

difficulty financing affordable and mixed market housing development projects, manufactured housing in County, intermunicipal cooperation, water and sewer infrastructure, transportation issues, and more.

Report/Discussion: Climate Smart Communities Program Update – Hailley Delisle, DPS

Hailley re-introduced herself and provided an overview of the Climate Smart Communities (CSC) Program. Her report and the subsequent discussion covered the certification process, benefits to becoming a CSC, potential role for PAB members to help with required action steps, differences between silver and bronze certification, collaboration with municipalities including training and educational opportunities, enhanced competitiveness in terms of grant applications, interconnectivity with Clean Energy Communities program, and more.

Report: Establishing 2023 Natural Infrastructure Committee – Abigail Conner, DPS

Abigail re-introduced herself to the board and gave a synopsis of the County's Natural Infrastructure Capital Program. She then requested volunteers for the PAB Natural Infrastructure Committee, which assists department staff in evaluating applications to the program. Gay Nicholson, David Herrick, and Jordan Decker agreed to serve on the committee.

Member Items

Members reported on a NYSERDA-funded pilot project to support the installation of high-efficiency heat pumps in low- to middle-income (LMI) rentals in the City and Town of Ithaca, as well as a Tompkins County Recovery Fund award to install heat pumps in LMI mobile homes, and recruitment for the City of Ithaca's newly established Sustainability and Social Justice Advisory Committee. In addition, the group shared a call to action from Ithaca CarShare regarding community car share programs and NYS insurance regulations, a quick update on the Industrial Development Agency Workforce Housing Policy, Alliance for Clean Energy New York webinar series on the NYS Climate Action Plan, and other news.

Adjournment: Chair C.J. Randall adjourned the meeting at 5:00pm.