## TOMPKINS COUNTY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS

125 East Court Street Ithaca, NY 14850 Phone: (607) 274-5434 Fax: (607) 274-5430 Email: tccog@tompkins-co.org

Don Barber, Co-Chair Herb Engman, Co-Chair Richard Driscoll, Vice Chair

April 28, 2011

*MEMBERSHIP* 

Commissioner Joe Martens

City of: New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

Ithaca 625 Broadway

Albany, New York 12233-6500

County of:

Tompkins

Re: Public Comment Period for the Revised Draft Supplemental EIS on the Oil, Gas, and Solution Mining Regulatory Program for the Marcellus Shale Gas Drilling

**Dear Commissioner Martens:** 

According to Executive Order No. 41 (*Requiring Further Environmental Review*), signed by Governor David A. Paterson on December 13, 2010, the Department of Environmental Conservation was ordered to publish a Revised Draft Supplemental Generic Environmental Impact Statement (sGEIS) on or about June 1, 2011. That Executive Order also called for the Department to accept public comments on the Revised Draft for at least thirty (30) days.

We appreciate the tremendous effort required by the NYSDEC to address the complex technical and regulatory concepts that must be included in the Revised Draft SGEIS and the amount of work it will take to respond to the thousands of comments received on the Draft SGEIS. We are equally concerned with the time and effort it will take for the public and for agencies, such as ours, to review the revised document upon its release especially in light of limited broadband access in rural areas. It is critical that the public have adequate time to review this important document. Therefore, we are requesting that the NYSDEC establish a ninety-day public comment period following promulgation of the Revised Draft SGEIS. In addition, we request six to ten regional public comment hearings in the general areas.

Respectfully,

Don Barber, Co-Chair

Tompkins County Council of Governments

cc: Governor Cuomo; New York State Senators Dean Skelos, Brian Kolb, Thomas O'Mara, James Seward, and Michael Nozzolio; Speaker Sheldon Silver; Assemblywoman Barbara Lifton; Chair of Senate Committee on Environmental Conservation Mark Grisanti; Chair of Assembly Committee on Environmental Conservation Robert Sweeney; Attorney General Erik Schneiderman; U.S. Senators Charles Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand; Representatives Diane DeGette, Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar, Representative Richard Hanna and Representative Maurice Hinchey; EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson, EPA Region 2 Administrator Judith Enck; New York State Association of Counties; New York State Association of County Health Officials (NYASCHO); the Tompkins County Board of Health; Tompkins County Legislature; and Town Supervisors and Clerks within Tompkins County.

Towns of:

Caroline Danby

Dryden

Enfield

Groton Ithaca

Lansing

Newfield

Ulysses

Villages of: Cayuga Heights

Dryden

Freeville

Groton

Lansing

Trumansburg