

Tompkins County Council of Governments

Governor Daniel D. Tompkins Building Ithaca, NY 14850

ADOPTED

MOTION NO. 003-2020

APPROVAL OF THE FOLLOWING TOMPKINS COUNTY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS (TCCOG) SUBCOMMITTEES, INITIAL MEMBERSHIP, AND STRUCTURE OUTLINE

Subcommittee Membership

- Energy: Rod Howe, Chair; Joanne James, Ronny Hardaway, Joel Gagnon, Heather McCarty
- Transportation: Robert Lynch, Chair; Bill Goodman, Betty Conger, Gary Ferguson
- Water Quality: George McGonigal, Chair; Tee Ann Hunter; Liz Thomas, Joe Wetmore, Mike Murphy
- Emergency Response and Planning: Mark Witmer, Chair; Beth McGee, Rordan Hart, Irene Weiser

Subcommittee Structure Outline

- Committees will be chaired by someone on TCCOG. Membership of committees will be open to others as well. Meetings are open to the general public to observe.
- The Chair of each subcommittee will be chosen by TCCOG. The chair's responsibilities will include setting a time and place for committee meetings; setting a preliminary agenda; communicating agenda and time/ place; reporting back to TCCOG. Minutes need to be kept for all meetings (though they can be brief).
- The plan is for committee meetings to alternate months with TCCOG meetings. Though if committees are ambitious and choose to meet more often, that is fine.
- County Staff support will be limited to general announcements and posting information on the County Website.
- Committees will not have a budget from TCCOG.
- The four committees are:
 - > Energy and Climate Change
 - ➤ Water Quality
 - Public Transportation
 - > Emergency Services
- Given the broad nature of these topics the first order of business for committees is to narrow these broad topics to a narrow subtopic. This should be accomplished by the end of the first meeting.
- Committees will next gather a general understanding of what projects/policies/etc. are underway at both the County Level as well as the town level. Ideally, this should be accomplished by June 15, 2020.
- At the August 27, 2020 TCCOG meeting, committees should present to TCCOG a set of goals they wish to accomplish and a plan of action of how to accomplish those goals.

RESULT: ADOPTED [11 TO 0]

MOVER: Joe Wetmore, Member, Town of Lansing **SECONDER:** Joel Gagnon, Member, Town of Danby