Tompkins County Council of Governments Bylaws Amended 9/22/2016

I. Name

The name of the organization shall be the Tompkins County Council of Governments (TCCOG).

II. Purpose

TCCOG is an association of local governments within Tompkins County, organized to provide a forum for discussion and negotiation leading to agreements for more efficient and fiscally responsible delivery of government services.

The goals include: expanding cooperation among taxing entities and resolving duplication of services, improving communication among local governments in Tompkins County and improving involvement with School Districts.

TCCOG may seek, allocate and administer appropriate funding from local, state, federal and private sources, including various grants, to support the accomplishment of the goals.

Agenda items should reflect actionable items for local governments, or topics applicable to the health, safety and welfare of residents within Tompkins County.

III. Membership

A. Designated Members:

Each Municipality shall select an elected official as a designated representative/member.

All other elected officials are welcome to attend and participate in the discussions.

B. Alternate Members:

Each municipality shall select an Alternate Member to attend if the Designated Member is unavailable. The Alternate Member may, or may not, be an elected official.

Each municipal Clerk shall provide TCCOG with a certified copy of a resolution appointing its Designated Member and Alternate Member and the term for which the individual(s) are being appointed.

IV. Voting

A. Designated Members:

The Designated Member from each municipality shall exercise voting rights on behalf of that municipality at TCCOG meetings.

B. Alternate Members:

In the absence of the Designated Member, the Alternate Member shall exercise voting rights on behalf of that municipality at TCCOG meetings. Only one vote is allowed per municipality.

All other elected officials are welcome to attend and participate in the discussions, but may not vote unless they become the Designated or Alternate member.

V. Officers

The officers of the TCCOG will be two Co-Chairs—one being the Primary Chair and the other the Secondary Chair—and a Vice Chair.

A. Nomination and Election of Officers

Officers will be nominated by TCCOG from among its Designated or Alternate members and approved by a majority vote of those present, in person.

B. Term

The term of officers shall be for three years total. Officers will be elected to serve

in year one as Vice Chair,

in year two as Secondary Chair and

in year 3 as Primary Chair,

based on the calendar year, beginning on January 1 after the term of the Primary Chair expires. As the term for Primary Chair expires, the Secondary Chair shall become the Primary Chair, the Vice Chair shall become the Secondary-Chair, and a new Vice Chair elected.

C. Vacancies

Should a vacancy occur in any office of TCCOG, the Council will elect a replacement from among its members, and approved by a majority vote of those present in person, to fill out the remainder of the term of the Co-Chair or Vice Chair.

A vacancy occurs only upon the receipt of a letter of resignation or conclusion of a member's term as an elected official.

D. Duties

The officers of the TCCOG shall undertake the duties commonly associated with their positions. The Co-Chairs shall set agendas and preside over Council meetings, with the Primary Chair having the ultimate responsibility for both. In the absence of both Co-Chairs, the Vice Chair shall preside.

E. Support to the Council

The County Administrator will continue to provide staff support and assistance to the Council. The staff support shall include minutes and agendas as well as special projects as needed. The County Administrator must approve special project support.

VI. Meetings

Meetings will be held monthly at an established date and time in a County building that is centrally located within the County. The first meeting of the year shall be an organizational meeting. Meetings shall be open to the public.

A. Quorum

A quorum shall consist of a majority of the membership.

B. Voting:

Each municipality shall have one (1) vote cast by their Designated Member or Alternate, in the absence of the Designated Member. Decisions are based on a majority vote of those present at the meeting, if a quorum is present.

No municipality is bound to participate in the majority decision of the Council.

C. Participation by TCCOG Members

The person chairing the TCCOG meeting shall call the meeting to order and chair the meeting. Members should raise their hand when they would like to speak and wait until acknowledged by the Chair. The Chair may allow more informal discussion.

D. Participation by Individuals Outside TCCOG

Participation by the public will be at the discretion of the person chairing the TCCOG meeting, but is not normally permitted.

VII. Funding Reserve

Resolution No. 3 adopted on November 18, 2010 created a funding reserve to provide a modest source of one-time funding for projects that are of mutual benefit to the majority of municipalities within TCCOG, and that serve the broadest interests of all members.

- **A. Voluntary Contribution:** A voluntary contribution should be set on an annual basis with a periodic evaluation of need for additional funds.
- **B.** Requests for use of Funds: Proposals to appropriate funds must be received by TCCOG Board at least one week prior to a TCCOG meeting.
- **C. Approval of Funds:** Appropriation of TCCOG reserve funds shall be made based by a 2/3 majority vote of those attending the TCCOG meeting where the proposal is being presented and discussed.

VIII. Bylaws

Bylaws may be adopted or amended by a two thirds (2/3) vote of constituent members in person. There must be advance notification of changes given before a vote.