

## **TOMPKINS COUNTY COMPREHENSIVE PLAN** PLANNING FOR OUR FUTURE

Adopted March 3, 2015 by the **Tompkins County Legislature** 

Michael E. Lane, Chair James Dennis, Vice Chair

Will Burbank **Carol Chock** 

Leslyn McBean Clairborne

Kathy Luz Herrera **Dooley Kiefer** Daniel Klein **David McKenna Glenn Morey** Martha Robertson **Brian Robison Nathan Shinagawa** Mike Sigler

**County Administrator** 

loe Mareane

**Peter Stein** 

**Tompkins County Planning Advisory Board** 

Kris Altucher, Education Mina Amundsen, At-Large

Martha Armstrong, Chair, Economic Development

Michelle Berry, At-Large Todd Bittner, Natural Environment

Will Burbank, Planning, Energy, and Environmental Quality Committee Carol Chock, Planning, Energy, and Environmental Quality Committee

Dick Coogan, Local Planning (non-urban)

Sue Cosentini, Business **Rick Couture, Education** 

Fernando de Aragón, Transportation

John Gutenberger, Education

Dave Herrick, Facilities/Infrastructure David Kay, Local Planning (urban) Dooley Kiefer, Associate Member

Gay Nicholson, At-Large Monika Roth, Agriculture

Kathy Schlather, Human Services

John Spence, Housing

Rob Steuteville, Built Environment

Scott Whitham, Cultural and Historic Preservation

Andy Zepp, Vice Chair, Land Preservation/Public Land Management

Prepared by the **Tompkins County Planning Department** 

Edward C. Marx, AICP, Commissioner of Planning

Katherine Borgella, AICP, Deputy Commissioner of Planning

Scott Doyle, AICP, Senior Planner

Dariele Drake, Principal Account Clerk/Typist

Sharon Heller, Geographic Information System Analyst

Joan Jurkowich, Planning Administrator

Tom Knipe, Senior Planner Megan McDonald, Senior Planner

Jennifer Turner, Administrative Assistant 3

## **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

The Planning Department thanks the many agencies and individuals who provided information for and guidance in the preparation of this plan. First and foremost, we thank the members of the community who shared their thoughts and ideas on the future of Tompkins County. Without their advice, suggestions, and comments, we would not have been able to prepare this document. We would also like to specifically thank: Fernando de Aragón and Tom Mank of the Ithaca-Tompkins County Transportation Council for their help in coordinating the preparation of the Comprehensive Plan with the Long-Range Transportation Plan; Martha Armstrong and Michael Stamm of Tompkins County Area Development for their help in coordinating the preparation of the Comprehensive Plan with the Economic Development Strategy; Torri Bennington of Westhill Graphics for the creative design and layout of the document; individuals who graciously granted permission to use the photos throughout the Plan